Sign up

Search the Bible
* powered by Bible Study Tools

Book of Ecclesiastes

Ecclesiastes Summary

The Book of Ecclesiastes was written by the son of David, whom many think is Solomon though unconfirmed. There are 12 chapters in Ecclesiastes, and the common theme in the book is to live under God's commandments but to also enjoy life.

Also, Ecclesiastes makes a point to tell readers that we should fear God - that is, respect and honor Him. There are also references to the coming Messiah in this book, such as 12:11 which points out the Davidic Messiah being the "one shepherd."

Read through the entirety of Ecclesiastes and check out the summaries, meanings, and commentaries on each verse.

Chapters in Ecclesiastes

Most Popular Verses in Ecclesiastes

Ecclesiastes 7:9 Be not hasty in thy spirit to be angry: for anger reste...
Ecclesiastes 3:11 He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he...
Ecclesiastes 10:19 A feast is made for laughter, and wine maketh merry: bu...
Ecclesiastes 3:1 To every thing there is a season, and a time to every p...
Ecclesiastes 12:1 Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth, whil...

Join 4,000,000+ Christians on FB!